GST on vacant commercial IP if lease is put in place prior to settlement?

Hi,

I will get some (paid for) professional advice on this if this deal does seem to have legs, but at this early stage wondering if anybody has experience with this topic...

If I were to exchange contracts for a vacant commercial IP which remained vacant at settlement, obviously not a going concern and GST would need to be payable.

However, if its vacant at exchange of contracts but we can find a tenant who signs a lease prior to settlement, can I set up the contract of sale such that no GST would be payable (but obviously if I fail to find a tenant I would then need to "top up" with GST)?

I've read a lot online but cant seem to find an answer - more just the basics on if the no-GST exemption applies -> i.e. agreement for a going concern needs to be made in writing, needs to continue up intil the time of supply, time of supply is usually settlement, etc...

Thanks.

Hey Trogdor,

I am no expert, however my understanding is that it would not be a going concern as the tenant was not running business when it was for sale.

Indeed, the situation of leasebacks (from selller being original owner occupier) where seller signs lease (upon sale) and continues to trade may also be seen as not being a going concern. I have seen leasebacks advertised for sale with GST implicated in the purchase price.

As you mention in your post, seek professional advice. If deal stacks up for you, you will need to register for GST in that entity and claim it back on your first BAS. Of course you need to stump up the whole amount up front first and that may thwart lending LVR's or your out of pocket cash position till you claim it back.

Thanks Player, thats very helpful indeed - esp the point re: sale and leaseback - I did some googling and various accounting / law firm online resources confirm this point.