Had my first game of golf yesterday

Inspired by that thread recently started by Luce Rocks.
And given impetus by a phone call in the morning from a bloke down the road asking me whether I wanted to have a hit at the local course.
It was a great way to spend a couple of hours on a Sunday arvo. I can't believe it's taken me so long to have a go at golf given the course is walking distance from home.
We played nine holes.
I got 8, 7, 5, 7, 4, 9, 5, 6 and 6.
The 9 was because I hit the first shot into the river and apparently that cost me three shots.
Who on earth would put a river beside a golf course?
The most useful thing I learnt as a complete beginner? Don't try to smash the ball. Every time I tried to give it a really good whack, it ended badly.
It cost me $15 including the hire clubs. I'll do it again for sure.
Scott

Good for you, Scott. Welcome to this great game.

It's amazing how many folk I have come across in golf who say; "Gee, I wish I had taken this up as a kid!".

By the way; to hit a ball into the river is a one stroke penalty.

eg;
1. you hit your tee shot into the river. (1st stroke)
2. you drop another ball within 2 clublengths of the spot where the ball entered the river (assuming it is marked as a hazard) (2nd stroke for the drop).
3. you play your next stroke (3rd stroke).

The only difference to this is if the river is deemed "out of bounds". In this scenario, you have to go back to the place where you played your last shot (the tee shot in this example) and repeat step 2.

Your penalty is then a "stroke and distance" penalty - ouch!

Your 3rd stroke is then played from that spot.

(There is a third penalty drop option, but it's a bit complicated to explain it here. It is better understood if you are shown.)

The good thing about golf is you can play it at any age, on your own or with others, and you can play with folks of any standard.