Has accountant overcharged me?

My wife and I Have been using the same accountant for the last 6 years and had a good relationship with him until this year.

He has charged me over $1000 for my tax return. I have questioned it and he is adamant he hasn't overcharged and it took him 9 hours to complete. I believe this to be impossible as my situation has not changed from the previous 2 years (no CGT events or purchases to calculate) and we are normally charged around $300 each. I add up all receipts and compile a spreadsheet for him before taking it to him, it's a pretty simple PAYG and 2 investment property return, that hasn't changed much if at all over the last few years. I correct his errors as well.
Due to a pay rise half way through the year, I paid more tax and relieved a larger amount back then previous years.

I have been very reasonable in my approach, at first I thought he had made an honest mistake but he is adamant it took him 9 hours to complete my return, and 3 hours for my wife's.I find that unbelievable, every other year has taken him around 3 hours, and our situation has not changed at all in the last 3 years (no CGT or purchases, nothing at all!). It's a PAYG with 2 residential properties, no SMSF or anything tricky.

He is not willing to show me his actual time sheet (just telling me he has added up the hours) even though he was holding his diary when I was speaking with could have resolved the issue there and then.

He initially said he had to re do my return because I "added" something after he completed it - I picked up a mistake he had made with an amount before signing so he amended it, definitely not "redoing" my return (which he agreed was the situation) He has not been able to tell me why my return would take 9 hours for him to complete.