Help with mortgage/investment idea's?

Firstly Id like to say what a great forum you lot have here, really glad I found it:)

My name Is Mark and Im keen to learn about investing in property.

I currently have an IP in kurunjang (melton) which I purchased for 270k in october 2011 with my 10% deposit. I know its not an ideal area to invest in but I was only 19 when i bought it and it was pretty much all I could afford.

Since then I have paid 32k off the mortgage and have an outstanding debt of 208k. I am intersted in buying another property but Im unsure as to whether or not it is the right thing to do.

Should I focus on paying down my mortgage and saving at the same time (offset account)... or use the equity in my mortgage with some of my savings to purchase another property?

Im new to this so please be nice:)

Thanks, Mark.

Firstly Id like to say what a great forum you lot have here, really glad I found it:)

My name Is Mark and Im keen to learn about investing in property.

I currently have an IP in kurunjang (melton) which I purchased for 270k in october 2011 with my 10% deposit. I know its not an ideal area to invest in but I was only 19 when i bought it and it was pretty much all I could afford.

Since then I have paid 32k off the mortgage and have an outstanding debt of 208k. I am intersted in buying another property but Im unsure as to whether or not it is the right thing to do.

Should I focus on paying down my mortgage and saving at the same time (offset account)... or use the equity in my mortgage with some of my savings to purchase another property?

Im new to this so please be nice:)

Thanks, Mark.

Welcome buddy, you are doing great!!

In terms of the finance side of things, I am not an expert, but since it is an investment loan, you should not be paying it down, but to offset it and maximise tax benefits.