Home Loan Scoring System & Loan Situation

Hi there,

I'm trying to get finance for a block of land ($134,000). I've got pre approval from the mortgage broker however I got knocked back by Commonwealth on the grounds that I was deemed high risk.

I'm in my first full time position as a Graduate Civil Engineer at a local council which I started in May this year. I take home minimum 1700 (after tax) a fortnight from that job while also working Saturdays at a retail store in which I have been working for 4 years at casually. So my total per fortnight is around 1850 after tax.
I save around 1300 a fortnight which goes into my house savings account.

What specifics do they look at when determining your score? The mortgage broker is now trying Westpac as they have a different scoring system to Commonwealth. But I'd like to know more on what is getting me declined.

In my work position I use scoring systems and I understand that scoring systems are a good tool to provide consistency amongst applications while taking into account various attributes such as duration of occupation, loan amount, savings history etc. As i use similar tools when determining the priority of future works.

The loan amount is $127,000 which is a small amount in the scheme of bank lending and $170 odd in weekly repayments is tiny for myself considering my outgoings are less than $200 a week including all bills.

Also I've got to get finance approval by the 16th August for settlement on the 20th September.

What are your thoughts on both the scoring system used by banks such as Commonwealth and thoughts on my predicament.

Westpac also credit scores. Maybe worthwhile going with a lender that doesn't credit however you are right - you need to find out why your application has been declined.

Lenders look at but not limited to:

1. Employment stability (duration, how often you are changing, same industry or different industry/line of work)

2. Address stability (are you changing addresses regularly)