How Close are you to being able to Throw in the Job?!!

I'm not good with polls etc, so this is a very simple thread!

If you are anything like me you will have worked out how close you are to being able to throw in the job and live off your investments. Many on here will already have thrown in the job which is great, and I'd love to read your stories as well.

I'm not wanting people to publish their numbers, $ or amount of properties held or anything like that. Generic answers and illustrations will suffice! I find reading other people's investment stories interesting and inspiring and it motivates me to continue on my own journey towards financial independence!

In my case, if I were to contemplate this, right now I would have a number of options:

1) Keep the existing IP portfolio and set the loans to gradually pay down the debt - working part time in the interim. Buy an IP which supports itself in a SMSF and sell this down upon retirement, or use the income to supplement existing investments. This would be a longer term strategy.

I could go part time today if wanting to implement this, but the strategy above would be 20 yrs or so. This would see all debt retired and a fairly substantial income stream in retirement. I would think I'd be able to scale down to minimal work (2 days per week) after 7 yrs or so. (Approx).

2) Keep the existing IP portfolio, buy a com prop, work part time and sell down one or two in the future to retire investment debt - working part time in the interim. Also would be able to buy an IP in a SMSF and either sell this on retirement, or use the income to supplement existing investment income.

Similar time frame to the above, although I could go part time immediately after purchasing the com property, scaling down work to minimal hrs after 7 yrs or so.