Is a bad view from the balcony a capital growth killer?

Hi all,
I'm a newbie to property investment and am about to jump in but before I do I'm in search of some sage advice from the Somersoft community.

I'm considering buying an apartment in the Melbourne suburb of Flemington. It ticks plenty of boxes from an investment perspective being in a relatively small block of 16, has a large balcony, large bed rooms and living area, undercover parking, moderate BC fees, plenty of storage space, shops walkable distance away, etc. It, however, has 2 obvious downsides:1. The view from the balcony is pretty ugly - it overlooks some sheds, carports and generally unattractive residential surrounds; and 2. All the windows and the balcony are south facing.

I've attached a few photos taken from the balcony.

Can anyone provide any advice on whether these 2 points are likely to substantially trim capital growth over the long term.

Many thanks!

Attachments

• view 1.JPG
    view 1.JPG
    80.6 KB · Views: 275
  • view 2.JPG
    view 2.JPG
    87.7 KB · Views: 240
  • view 3.JPG
    view 3.JPG
    67.4 KB · Views: 261
I wouldn't want to sit on a balcony with a view like that. But I guess the price would reflect this?

Is the balcony big enough to put screening plants on the edges to camouflage the "actual" view?

This would possibly be a deal breaker for me. If I don't want to sit and look at somebody's rubbish stacked up under an open carport, why would your tenant want to? But if the price is right and you can screen the lower bits of the view...

There are millions of units out there with no view - the majority probably. Despite having no view pricings are still risinng.

When the market rises in a suburb, all the properties in the market rise with it. This property will grow and tenants will rent there.

The issues are:
1. Tenants will not pay a premium rental for it.
2. If you need to sell, other properties with better views in better locations will sell first, before yours.