Is positive cashflow always good?

Hi everyone, sorry I'm rather new to the finance side of investments and do not have a deep enough comprehension to see how having a balanced or non-balanced portfolio will play out.

As the topics states, it is always good? Assuming I don't mind paying extra tax (saying that I would definitely find ways to reduce tax). What are peoples reasoning and thoughts?

Depends on your long term goals.

Regionals usually have better cashflow but the capital gains aren't usually there. Cashflow is better for ongoing serviceability but if you can't get capital growth, you'll never be able to refinance/sell to get a lump sum for the next purchase.

Good to have a mix of CF and CG properties. There are many ways to bring in cashflow.

Do a search for cashflow and you'll find heaps of posts

Depends what the comparative return (and risk/volatility) profile is.

In simple ways, compare how much the same amount of money you put into a property would compare to other investments.

eg
What would the same amount of cash in a interest bearing account return?
What would the same amount of cash in a commercial property trust return?
What would the same amount of cash in shares of a large company trust return?

Other considerations are things such as how interest rates and inflation may affect future returns, and volatility of the value of the underlying asset (how "safe" is your money?)

The Y-man

Last edited:
IMO cash flow positive is often a little surplus cash now, trading off against a potentially very big profit later. This isn't necessarily the case - but it appears to have often been for those buying properties in regional areas.

I've done OK on properties giving me both, getting properties with multiples. One was a block with two cottages, plus a smaller cottage which was sometimes let out, and a block of 9 1br units. Both were CF+; they somewhat offset the CF- property. Both properties gave me excellent growth.