lease renewal question

Hi,

I've been renting for two years this apartment with yearly renewals.
Last year the lease increased by 5$ a week, now for the next lease the PM told me it'll be 15$ a week more! I have tried to negotiate down to 10$ but I was probably not good in that. I mentioned that the apartment next door, same as my one, was recently available for renting $30 the week cheaper than what I currently pay.
She also said the lease would increase no matter if I stay on a yearly contract or renewing monthly.

Do I have any chances of negotiating? would the landlord be more interested in having me for another year rather than on a monthly? paying regularly in time no issue at any inspection etc

Is the PM really reflecting what the landlord says/wants?
Can the tenant ask the PM to have a word with the landlord?

thanks
Mike

We generally don't increase our rent because many tenants stay for a year or two and at that stage we bump it back up to market.

However, we have just gone through the exercise of increasing rents to market where tenants have been there and have slipped under market. (Market rent is not an easy thing to determine in my opinion.)

I guess you can try to negotiate the increase, take them to tribunal if you think it is unfair or don't sign the new lease but look for something else.

why not save $2k a year, and take the cheaper apt?
because it was already taken once I saw it advertised :(

I actually like the place and would like to avoid the hassle of moving, so looking for negotiation options without having to go tribunal (no idea how that even works)

how about the chance of having a word with the landlord, is that something a tenant can ask?

Id be surprised if the PM will allow (not right word, i know) you to speak to the landlord directly, but maybe you could write a letter / email, for the PM to forward to LL, and ask the landlord to consider other options for a reduction in the proposed increase.