Lease with purchase option

This is my first time on so I hope this gets through.

I have an opportunity to lease a property at $600 p/w. The current market rent on this property is $450p/w. The deal is that the contract price is fixed at $390000 (the current value is $370000). Each week $150 of the $600 is taken off the contract price and in 5 years i purchase the property (in this case for $390000 less $39000 being the contributions). Hopefully the property will be valued at $450000 which will give me enough equity to purchase the property. If in 5 years the value is not $450000 the deal can be extended another 5 years under the same arrangements, therefore in 10 years i will pay $390000 less $78000 and by then i would expect the property to have gone through any expected down turn and recovered. The $600 is increased by cpi but the $150 remains the same, rents would also increase by cpi (maybe).

Does anyone out there have any views on this type of arrangement? How should the contract be arranged so that i will protected incase the current owners get into trouble? Can anyone recommend any lawyer that may have dealt with a similar deal etc?

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Roger

Lease Options

Hi Rogerp

I was interested in your post re: Lease Option arrangement you are considering.

One way to protect your interests is take out a Caveat on the property. The Lease should refer to the Option which gives you exclusive rights to buy the property.

You mentioned that the Lease component is five years.
Please check whether the Landlord is bound by the Residential Tenancies Act. If so they would be responsible for the maintenance and upkeep of the property.

Also be aware what the provisions are for extending the 5 year Lease. You may find that your rent will be higher as will the purchase price for the new 5 year period. This is OK so long as you understand the agreement and consent to it.