Lending money to a family trust

I am new to trust structures and would like your assistance on this.

Recently I have set up a family trust and I am the trustee. I'd like to get a LOC from the home loan, which is also under my name, and lend that to the trust. Can someone please explain how this process work, including interest deductibility? Do I need a loan agreement between the lender "me" and the trustee "me"? If so, how do I get one (e.g. through an accountant or lawyer)?

Thank you.

Hi

As a rule, you cannot claim interest on monies loaned to a family trust unless their is a loan agreement where the trust pays you a commercial rate of interest on the money that you loaned to the trust.

Yes, a solicitor is the only person who can prepare legal agreements.

Dale

kmranu said:
I am new to trust structures and would like your assistance on this.

Recently I have set up a family trust and I am the trustee. I'd like to get a LOC from the home loan, which is also under my name, and lend that to the trust. Can someone please explain how this process work, including interest deductibility? Do I need a loan agreement between the lender "me" and the trustee "me"? If so, how do I get one (e.g. through an accountant or lawyer)?

Thank you.

Bear in mind also that the loan is an "asset" in your books and a liability in the trust's books. One consequence of this is that if you were to be bankrupted, the loan would form part of your bankrupt estate and your bankrupcty administrator could (subject to the terms of the loan agreement) demand repayment of the loan from the trust.

Loans between trusts and their principal beneficiaries compromise asset protection to the value of the loan. I.e they're a potential wealth hazard. Having said that, they're very commonly used.

Get some good advice.
Cheers
N.

DaleGG said: