Living overseas. CGT reduction question.

Hi folks.

We moved back to Spain in September. I have some rural-zoned vacant land that I bought in 2011/2012. I finally got a building entitlement for it in October. Now I'm keen to sell.

My question is: what's the deal with the CGT reduction now that I'm living overseas? Can I still claim to be an Australian resident for tax purposes? Or am I now a non resident? And if I'm a non resident do I lose the CGT reduction entirely, or just a pro-rata part of it for the time I've been living in Spain?

I'm guessing there's no way to claim I was intending to build a house on it, ergo it was my primary place of residence, but then I changed my mind and moved overseas...

Non-residents lost the CGT discount on 8th May 2012. The rules now mean unless you hold a valuation at 8th May (a reg valuer !!) then the discount can apply to the CGT up to that point. Therafter its not eligible for discount. Strategy is get a valuation !!

Speak to a reg valuer and seek a valuation at 8May12 for CGT purposes. Wont cost too much but may save close to 50% tax.

Your description indicates acquisition was intended to be a future residence but this never occurred. No main residence exemption since there has never been a residence to occupy. The land seems like its a mere realisation so its subject to CGT.

Non-resident tax scales aren't as nice either. No $18K tax free etc...

Check Spain tax law. They may tax you on worldwide income and give credit for the CGT paid here. You seem to a be a tax resident of spain now.

I bought it for $110k and now that it has building entitlement it's probably worth a smidge over $300k. But all that gain would be in the last month, so a valuation from May 2012 probably won't help much. Unless I'm misunderstanding you (not unlikely!). $200k CG with no exemption is a lot of tax dollars to have to part with considering I've only been out of the country a few months.