Loan serviceability issues =[

Good evening!

I'm currently an undergraduate student and currently own an IP which I was fortunate enough to have bought in 2007 before this whole boom business happened. I had paid the deposit for it with money that I had saved up throughout my childhood and it now has approx. 250k of equity. As I am diligently studying :D, part time work is sporadic but enough to live on and put away some savings (living at home is the best!). I for one am a bit anxious of the fact that my equity is doing a whole lot of not much, especially now as the market has somewhat softened. The equity will probably decrease slightly during this period, however I believe that I have bought well. I would like to use this equity to put down a deposit for another IP(s) in the near future as there is some uncertainty in the market and house prices seem to be letting up somewhat, however as I don't have a stable income stream I don't think banks would look favourably on my loan serviceability. I don't think this is a problem as I have done the numbers and I should be fine on the serviceability side of things. I don't want the parents to guarantor any loans as I am adamant on doing this myself.

I was wondering if any forumites have any ideas about what I can do with all this equity and if there are any loan products that you would like to draw to my attention. Cheers!

Christina :)

Hi Christina,

Well done on your accomplishments so far. Very few people manage to save long and hard enough to purchase a property before finishing Uni.

The bad news is that under the new laws lenders have to make reasonable enquiries into your ongoing ability to repay the loan. This generally means you need to be able to show them you've got enough income to cover your existing and (potential) future commitments.