Losing 10% deposit

As some know I have recently "sold" a property at Newport Beach, NSW. The purchaser is having problems completing and we have issued a notice to complete within 2 weeks charging 8% interest along the way.

The 10% deposit by the purchaser was paid by a deposit bond. Anyone have any experience with this? Purchaser not completing and dealing with insurance bond issuer for the 10%?

While I feel sad for the purchaser, financially speaking, I wouldn't mind the 10% and my house back. What a nice little wind fall.:)

So no one feels for the vendor, who has signed up to sell, been mucked about for months and now the buyer can't complete, vendor missing out on possible rent income but still having to pay all costs.....?

Deal or no deal...contracts state deposit is the penalty for non completion.

I'm sorry oscar, I have no experience with deposit bonds but sure someone else here is, maybe terryw?

You obviously don't feel sad for them

not so much, no. A contract is a contract and I will apply it with great vigor until we have a contractual arrangement meaning I get paid in full and hand over the property, or enjoy the fully agreed penalty clause/s and keep the property. They have a couple weeks so it's not over yet. I'm in no rush following up on their plight.

not so much, no. A contract is a contract and I will apply it with great vigor until we have a contractual arrangement meaning I get paid in full and hand over the property, or enjoy the fully agreed penalty clause/s and keep the property. They have a couple weeks so it's not over yet. I'm in no rush following up on their plight.

Just check your sale agreement with the selling agent too. More than likely they will be able to claim their full commission on the contract price out of that deposit.

Ridiculous, no sale made/settled.

Most I would give them would be 10% of the deposit.

Why would they deserve any more than this?