making creative offers...

Hi there, newbie here and after some advice, if anyone can help, I would be most grateful. I have found a house that I’m trying to buy. It is going to auction in a few weeks, but the vendor is open to offers prior. I am in the throes of using a broker to see what kind of loan I can get. My situation is I have an investment property that is worth about $300 +, with about $100 equity and my PPOR is worth about $180k with around $30k equity. The broker has been working on $280k for the new property and it doesn’t look like I can get there – maybe around $250k. I am pretty keen on this new property and was only looking at a third loan to give me time to sell the $300k house. (Too much debt for me to have 3 properties). I want to put an offer in within the next few days (just waiting for my tax return to be finalised). This is what I am thinking. I present two offers with different situations.

1 I offer $300k with up to a 6 month settlement and I will rent the house from the owners at the market rate. Estate agents think my house should sell reasonably quickly, especially at the moment, and I figure I have some room to drop the price if I have to.

2 I offer $300k and ask the vendor to loan me the shortfall, which I think would be around $60 k for up to a year. I read about this in property investor magazine. I would offer them 10% interest, capitalised on the loan at the end of the term (so in effect they get $306000 as the purchase price). They will hold a registered second mortgage on the house that I am trying to buy and as soon as my house has sold I give them their loan back + whatever interest is payable. Again, I offer to rent their house while I am trying to sell.

All subject to finance. Broker is organising a valuation and as long as the house is safe and sound, I won’t be looking for discounts from a building inspection.