Markets for Renting?

Hello - This is my 1st post here (did you have a different board before?)

I was wondering a bit about the market in Australia and also New Zealand.

I have been renting property for several years in the UK, we have recently - last 2 years - had what I can only describe as a flood of investors pile onto the market - not researching areas properly and causing rents to drop in some areas.

This made me decide to ditch all of my rentals and move into buy to sell. Reading through I have not seen much about buy to sell here (or I may have missed it in the code talk)

Do you have good rental markets generally?
are there flooded areas? or has it not got to that?
can you see it getting flooded?

anyone else done what I have done and ditched rentals for buy to sell?

I have been going in the chat room a bit - and lurking - is there a popular night / morning?

Thankyou

Lady Lea

Hi Lady Lea,

From my limited experience, i might say that your question is very hard to answer in Australia, as it not just one housing market.

There are numerous different markets and all of them are doing different things at the same time.

ie: hugely varying rental vacancy rates in differnet cities, big differences in housing prices all over Australia, some areas rising in price, some level or going backwards due to no demand (eg: $7000 properties in TAS, thats about 2300 quid...amazing)

anyway you get the idea.

If you can be more specific that would make it easier to answer

Hi,

I think what you are suggesting is what we would call 'buy, add value and sell' aka 'buy renovate and sell/hold'. Do some searching under the Reno headings and see how you go - particularly the old forum(s).