Mortgage vs Caveat

I have had no experience with caveats before.

I have a friend who is willing to lend me money. Is he secured well enough with a caveat against a property? I have about 400k equity in a property which is currently mortgaged with St George. They won't allow a 2nd mortgage.

He is willing to lend me up to 200k but wants the loan secured by more than a simple loan agreement. The property value is 950k and the bank loan is 555k. If he lent me the 200k my total LVR would still be less than 80%. He has advised me that he doesn't want to lend me more than 80% LVR.

Thanks, RS

Hi Rockster

My recollection is that in NSW a first mortgagee cant refuse a second mortgage.

A caveat is not an "actionable instrument. It prevents further dealings on the title, thats all.

If u go half belly up and the first mortgagee still gets their payments, then they have no reason to force a sale.

ta
rolf

Hi Rolf,

I have an email from my broker which states

Unfortunately neither St George nor BankWest will allow a 2nd mortgage on a low doc loan.

And they won’t be a 2nd mortgagee behind someone else.

A caveat and a private loan agreement is really the only way you can go.

A caveat is not an "actionable instrument. It prevents further dealings on the title, thats all.

Well I guess the private loan contract is the agreement and the caveat is in place to secure the loan in a sense?

I just want him well protected if we die so he can get his money out. :)

Hi Rocky

I suspect that this is the banks standard legal answer, id speak with a NSW based solicitor.

I suspect they can refuse a deed of prio, but not the reg of a second or further mortgage

ta
rolf

I am not in NSW but also my understanding is that they cannot refuse a second mortgage.

Specific part of legislation:
Restrictions on mortgage of future property