Most tax effective and legal way to fund purchase of a grand piano

I was going to put this under the accounting/tax section, but it isn't related to buying property!

I'm hunting around for a grand piano and as my accountant is away, need some advice on how best to finance this. I am a piano teacher/accompanist and would use the instrument at home to practice the repertoire that I need to prepare for work. I don't teach from home and don't intend to.

Am I able to:

1. Use one of our lines of credit that is secured by one of our Ip's to fund the purchase and legally claim the interest? Or would I be best to secure a loan separate to our properties?

2. Depreciate the instrument annually in my tax return.

3. Is it best to pay cash?

Any ideas greatly appreciated.

Regards Jason

I was going to put this under the accounting/tax section, but it isn't related to buying property!

I'm hunting around for a grand piano and as my accountant is away, need some advice on how best to finance this. I am a piano teacher/accompanist and would use the instrument at home to practice the repertoire that I need to prepare for work. I don't teach from home and don't intend to.

Am I able to:

1. Use one of our lines of credit that is secured by one of our Ip's to fund the purchase and legally claim the interest? Or would I be best to secure a loan separate to our properties?

2. Depreciate the instrument annually in my tax return.

3. Is it best to pay cash?

Any ideas greatly appreciated.

Regards Jason

1, Yes. It would be a work related expense, so as long as you don't use it for private reasons - personal pleasure??? - the interest on money borrowed to buy one should be deductible.

2. Yes.

3. Not if you have non deductible debt.

What are they worth?

1, Yes. It would be a work related expense, so as long as you don't use it for private reasons - personal pleasure??? - the interest on money borrowed to buy one should be deductible.

2. Yes.