Need your advice

Hi to everyone, I'm new to this and I need advice.
Last few months, I have been browsing through this forum and found it very useful. I had lots of queries and the search forum really helped me getting me answers

I have a question that you may find it stupid. but I can't stop asking it.

I bought my first unit 3 years back, north to Sydney. its my residential property.

Here is what I am planning to do now:
buy investment property (unit) in lower north shore.
rent it out to friend so I know I will get good/long term tenant.
get the possible tax deductions.

I am very new to the investment and specially property investment.
Do you think that I will need any advisor? or accountant?
In what area they will help me? is it worth paying them $$$?
I am relatively new to this country so not familiar with the legal maters.
Also should I be looking for newer units to get maximum tax benefit (with depreciation)

Thanks in advance
Shail

I bought my first unit 3 years back, north to Sydney. its my residential property.

I'm assuming you mean that you're living in it and it's your principle place of residence.

buy investment property (unit) in lower north shore.
rent it out to friend so I know I will get good/long term tenant.
get the possible tax deductions.

Why would you assume that a friend would naturally be a good or long term tenant? Personally, I wouldn't rent to anyone I know. Far too many potential problems down the track. Say they run short one month and decide 'Shail is a mate so I can just pay next week after the pay comes in'. What do you do then? what if you thought they would stay forever and they decide to go overseas or get married and get a bigger place or whatever?

I am very new to the investment and specially property investment.
Do you think that I will need any advisor? or accountant?
In what area they will help me? is it worth paying them $$$?
I am relatively new to this country so not familiar with the legal maters.