Not even a concrete box in the air

Well I guess the immediate family members got sick of standing around waiting for the wife and I to come-a-cropper with our high risk strategy. We were all constantly reading about the dreadful state of the economy, so naturally thought it was a great time to buy again.

Probably figured that we were onto a good thing and so the family decided to join us with our latest purchase. It's the first time we've ever gone into a deal with anyone else, but if you can't help your family....what's the point of this silly game we play. So far, it has been great, we are all more than happy.

The sales contract has been agreed and signed off, but isn't unconditional as we are still scratching around like chooks trying to get someone to fund 106% of the purchase price. But a small detail.

We are all fairly pleased with the selection, as there is nothing to do and is considered fairly low risk (by us who consider these supposedly high risk things to be low risk). It is a concrete box way up in the air. It's strata so we don't even own the concrete box. I'm happy about that.

Lease is all signed up for a reasonable time, with appropriate clauses all in favour of the Landlord, decent reviews agreed upfront and ratchet clauses to make sure the rent never goes down. Tenant is one of those where a Minister of the Crown has signed it, and the Treasury are the backup.

The occupiers are mostly conservative old gentlemen who walk slowly and wear wigs and gowns.....so not expecting too much in the way of damage or wear and tear.

The Lease dictates they must pay for everything and must do everything, just the way we like it. I'm not expecting the Tenant to renege on their commitments. The family members are very much looking forward to sitting back and collecting the excess cashflow.

With the only expense being our interest bill, the excess cash from the nett rents will immediately put a little bit of money into our pockets. This obviously ratchets up from there as the years progress. Our biggest responsibility is trying to shuffle it around so we don't pay tax on it. Bit of circular nature that actually.

It'll be good to receive a bit of revenue off the Govt for a change. The parents are looking forward to that. You can be sure that your hard earned taxes are going to a worthy cause.

Next time we need to bother with the property is Sept 2020. Sounds good to us.

Cheers and best wishes,

"Hot nuts." :)

Daz,

You always blow me away with your Commercial deals. This is no exception. As Rob says; Nice work if you can get it.

I'll stick with Resi for now, but your successes certainly do inspire me to look beyond my current paradigm at some point in the not too distant future.

Awesome work mate!

Nice work "Hot Nuts"! :)

Congratulations! Sounds like a very attractive deal... I will assume the presence of appropriate ratchet / rent review clauses! :rolleyes:

Very envious over here! Would love to know what sort of initial yield range you are seeing out there for similarly solid leases. But I more than understand if you wish to keep this to yourself as I don't have the best track record regarding sharing the nitty gritty as you know... :eek:

The occupiers are mostly conservative old gentlemen who walk slowly and wear wigs and gowns.....so not expecting too much in the way of damage or wear and tear.

Firstly, well done!

I thought these people were the ones that you particularly dislike (apart from ressy tenants, that is)?

Surely if anybody can mess you about, the wigs are the ones (second in line to the bankers)?

ummmm, I thought you retired. This all sounds like work to me :D:D:D:D

Would like to know numbers but totally understandable if you don't post them up.

Good luck with it and hope your family members personality profiles, especially in extreme circumstances/situations, are inline with yours/what you expect. As a side note, did you lock your family members into a watertight business agreement like you do with your tenants :D

Good work Dazz.

Who says it's not time to buy?!! ;)

And, here's one of the best bits of this whole caper; you are helping someone less fortunate to get a leg up in the world.

Gives you a great feeling; that is one of the parts of this I love - it's a pity that there are not more out there looking for the help.

Too busy at Happy Hour

Good work Dazz.

Who says it's not time to buy?!! ;)

And, here's one of the best bits of this whole caper; you are helping someone less fortunate to get a leg up in the world.

Gives you a great feeling; that is one of the parts of this I love - it's a pity that there are not more out there looking for the help.

I agree Marc; the reason there aren't more looking or seeking help is because they have no time. The herd specialise in Happy Hour and hangin' with the easy crowd. No free lunches in the games we play here ;)

Well done Dazz. It is rewarding to help others help themselves :)

How do you get someone to fund 106% of the purchase price? From all the finance people that i have talked to, best LVR is 75%

Are you using equity or are family members using equity to fund it?

If not who is your broker?

It's the first time we've ever gone into a deal with anyone else, but if you can't help your family....what's the point of this silly game we play. So far, it has been great, we are all more than happy.

Cheers and best wishes,

"Hot nuts." :)

Congratulations.........

La famiglia
Buono Fortuna

Hot Nuts (thats quality, very apt as well I reckon, you obviously agree)
FYI, that sign off actually is funny.. I think you might just get the hang of this comedy staff after all.

Also,Be careful though, you might just get us to put down our little spades and buckets and come join you in the big boys world.

God help you if that happens I reckon.

Then you will have to compete against us little resi drongos, now that would be a site to see!

Big Tone

How do you get someone to fund 106% of the purchase price? From all the finance people that i have talked to, best LVR is 75%

Are you using equity or are family members using equity to fund it?

If not who is your broker?

By using one of the proverbial 'freed' property tittles

Cheers Rob....it's the only thing I do now, so I do consider it my work....but honestly, you don't have to put out too much. It's akin to sitting down at the cafe and ordering something. The cafe owner then pays you when they bring it over. Ima liking this cafe !!

Thanks Michael - as you know, plenty of ways to skin this cat. Your method sound slike it works great as well.

Better to keep the numbers out of it HiEquity. You know the drill.

Thanks wylie !! Indeed, they are the very type of chaps and chapesses I dislike. However, as you know, I am superficial and rather shallow, and therefore could never bring myself to let my principles stand in the way of extracting some cash out of the buggers. Considering the legislation that governs this investment is in our favour, plus the clauses in the Lease grossly in our favour, I think even a magistrate would have a hard time "messing with us".

Hi CF+. No, haven't got any agreement with the family, but they are all good and decent folk, who are stumping up considerable equity to be a part of this. We shall get around to formalising the arrangement prior to settlement, but I have no intention of pinning my family members who I am trying to assist up against the wall.

Yes indeed Fransceso - considering the parents are coming along for the ride, the property has a strong element of retirement funds to it. But then, any asset that produces good strong cashflows would probably fit into this category.

Marc & Player - yes it is a good feeling helping someone out and giving them a leg up the property ladder. They are all a tad excited about the deal and are looking forward to having a prime asset in a prime location leased out to the Govt.

The only thing left to do is try and get these Bankers onto the same page. So far, the official feedback is that the asset sucks, the Tenant sucks, and the Lease term is too short. Fear not though, I have a trusty SS MB on the case, and he assures me, with a mortgage over his right test1c1e, that he will be able to pull something out of his rabbit hat......and if you happen to be reading this Rastus, then please stop and pick up the phone and call me !! :)

How do you get someone to fund 106% of the purchase price?

One of the Banks foolishly let us out of their X-coll straight jacket.....so we ran away with the title deeds given back, and ran straight to another Bank and popped on another X-coll straight jacket.

We've got more buckles and chains on us than Harry Houdini. They all tell me I'm mad....I surely must be.

Do come in - the water's fine. :D

Those chains must be made of a precious metal indeed, Congratulations Daz that cafe sounds wonderful, "retirement" becomes you ;)

images

Hey Dazz,

I will add to the list of congratulations! We are getting closer to slipping into the bigger pond, albeit the shallow end :)

Look forward to seeing more detail once locked away.

Horizon

One of the Banks foolishly let us out of their X-coll straight jacket.....so we ran away with the title deeds given back, and ran straight to another Bank and popped on another X-coll straight jacket.

We've got more buckles and chains on us than Harry Houdini. They all tell me I'm mad....I surely must be.

Do come in - the water's fine. :D

So just coming back on this (others can answer for me) TPF used a property or properties as additional security for a commercial purchase to get the best interest rates and terms? Because from the banks perspective it's lower risk because if it for some reason went belly up they have more in their palms to play with?

RH