offset account

I was asked in a PM to answer a question concerning offset accounts. As I am no expert I will give over my understanding of offset accounts and others can correct or add to it.

Offset account work like this- if you have a loan for $100k you naturally pay interest on the $100k.

If you have an offset account to that $100k loan and have a spare $40k in that account then you only pay interest on the $60k.

(however you still pay the same 'interest' amount each month but the money that would have paid for the interest on the $40k comes off the principal).

In my case it is shown on my ANZ bank statement at the end of the page as
'mortgage offset - interest saving $xyz.00"

Be sure that the mortage offset is 100% offset and not 50% offset. As with the above example that bank only takes into account half of the money in the offset account. (In the above example they would only count $20k)

Use the offset account facility on your PPOR first rather than an IP as it is better to reduce non tax deductable interest of your PPOR rather that deductable interest from an IP.

What is the value of an money in an offset rather than say ING earning 5%?

Money in ING gives 5% and that is taxed. Money in an offset reduces interest that you would have had to pay so in essence your the money is working at double the interest rate of your mortgage (providing you are on the highest marginal tax rate).

Why not just pay down the PPOR loan if you have $40k? Once you pay down the loan then if the PPOR ever becomes an IP in the future, the interest becomes deductable and if you have paid some of this down you have less interest to claim.

Also if you choose to use credit cards for most purchases using the 55 days interest free and have salary put in offset account then you have a small advantage of salary in offset mortgage until you PAY OFF the credit card EACH MONTH.

Hope this helps
Scott

G'day Scott,

Maybe it's different for different Banks, but....
Scott said: