Paying for mortgage broker

stanley said:
BTW, it's amazing this industry is not regulated yet considering the amount of money that people are borrowing these days.

Sorry mate,

This industry is extremely regulated. Why is it that so many people think that mortgage brokers are not regulated?

Rob

Last edited by a moderator:
Adviser,

Welcome to the forum!

It seems that not only some posters, including other brokers but also the RBA also believes the Mortgage Broking industry is not regulated.

Perhaps you can explain what regulation you see applying to the industry and explain why the RBA Governor's stance on the matter is incorrect.

Cheers,

Aceyducey

Hi Rob

Welcome to the forum.

The industry per say from the lender onward has a tight level of regulation, thats a fact.

The reality at broker level is too often otherwise.

A 2 day course, some PI Insurance and hey presto Im an Accredited Mortgage Consultant broker too, with no requirement for any handholding, or indeed real world exposure. Meanwhile, I could have written 10 deals that have just cost 10 borrowers tens of thousands of dollars and future opportunity because I had no idea of sequencing, lmi exposures, entity limits, or the potential tax treatments of LOCs, vs offset accts

I do agree with you Rob, that on disclosure issues, the brokerage industry is very tightly regulated, and about to become even more so in NSW, but on newish entry, we are far to loose.

ta
rolf

MIAA, ASIC, DFT, UCCC, Privacy Act, Lenders, Aggregators, Consumer Credit Admin Act, FTRA, Insurers... to name a few.

Those that do not comply with the above do not last long.