Positively Geared Properties Query

Hello everyone,

I was wondering if some of the more experienced investors on here could shed some light on the following question:

What stops a person from acquiring a positively geared property taking into account all the costs etc.?

If I came to a bank with a contract for a positively geared property, what would hold me back in regards to acquiring the new property.

I know a lot of banks take 80% of the rent to cater for costs and vacancies etc., but even if that still provided a positive flow, what are the limiting factors in this situation?

This is my first time on this forum and I must say I'm quite impressed.

Regards.

Last edited by a moderator:
Fenix

Hi and welcome.

Just remember you have to meet the banks debt to service ratio and loan to value ratio. Providing you can do this I don't see them giving you much trouble with the above example. But the big question is can you find a property that gives you that yield??

take into account the banks calculate the interest rate at 2% higher than the current rate and they work on all your credit cards and LOC's being fully drawn. I think they count 80% of the rent just for vacancies, they then add the holding costs on top of that.

Cheers Pablo.

I think, Pablo, that Fenix means that she/he earns about $55K in salary and has a PPR that's worth $335K.

Fenix, I have some thoughts but I'm not an expert. I suggest that you should get a mortgage broker, as your income is not high for your level of proposed debt and you will be needing to look at some innovative products/lenders. I don't think these waters can be competently navigated by we amateurs, or even by mortgage brokers who are more accustomed to dealing with the major banks; you need a mortgage broker competent in aggressive lending.

Hi Fenix

In theory what you are saying is absolutely true.