Programming?

Is anyone here a programmer? I think I fancy study programming, mostly for myself because I feel like I'm living in the matrix and everything around me is driven by mysterious codes that I don't understand, but it would be a plus if it lead to work. Not sure if the TAFE Cert IV in Programming will cut it for finding work later? Equally not sure I can commit to a whole degree. Any advice/input gladly received.

I'm doing a Diploma of Software Development, but I can't tell you if it will lead to a job. It's 12 months full time- very much so.

I started doing units at the local TAFE but found it very light on- I transferred to a course with the same qualification at Holmesglen though Computer Power. It's expensive, but through HELP (HECS) but I really feel I am learning.

I used to be a programmer before 8 years in my business- I'm just trying to get back into a job I really enjoyed.

Hmm, light-on sounds ok to me for the moment, I think. I don't know if I could handle anything too heavy with a bub around the house. Then again, I was also thinking of enrolling part time in the Computer Science degree that CSU (the local uni here in Bathurst) offers. They offer it by distance too, so I could keep going with it if we moved back to Spain. Urgh, can't decide. I guess if I really enjoy it once I start then the idea of studying part time for 6 years isn't so bad. But geez, 6 years is longer than I've ever committed to anything!

Luce I have no doubt that there'd be something in IT that you'd be great at. I've worked in the field and there are numerous roles, programming or otherwise. My wife has also worked heavily in IT in completely different roles.

You know I'm always happy to have a chat with you any time you like. :)