Property doubles every 7-10 years?

Hi all you maths/excel gurus.

What is a formula that works out the above assumtion.

And how could it be true, working over the last 200 years gives a value of about 35c for a house worth $400K today.

is it 2^10 for double every 10yrs for 100 years???

cheers

Im not too good with maths , but I would stay that the house price started with the values of the materials , and then from their value of the land doubled .

good question Ray.

It does look odd when put like that.

I don't know the answer myself, but you do need to look at it in relation to the average income then, and average cost of living - which i have no idea what it was?

Australian Property Investor magazine ran an article not so long ago which showed the historical prices of median properties in capital cities since the 1950/60's i think.

From memory the results generally backed up the theory - but it only went back about 40 years and not 200 years

OSS

Over the last two hundred hears, state theft ie inflation would have the 35c worth much more in 21'st centuary dollars than you might imagine.

I wasn't there and have no reference, but 35c might have been what a share cropper or tied serf might have earned per week. Clearly that wouldn't have bought anything.

So the answer is: No. Recent years are annomolous. But so too is the very low cost of white goods, brown goods, cars etc which allows a higher percentage of income to be spent on the Castle. And of course, a higher expectation home owners are willing to pay for.

If China revalues or Oz introduces import restrictions and TVs, washers, sterios etc become expensive again then available dollars for the Castle will fall. Of course the rest of the world may just suspect we can't pay our import bills and this will happen anyhow.

Be nice to miners, They are the only ones who will keep you in the luxury to which you are accustomed.

Ol School Skata said: