Property in self managed super funds

Does anyone know if you can do the following:

We have an investment unit which is too negatively geared for our liking - however the capital gain it has already received is a big plus for keeping it.

We are thinking of putting it into a self managed super fund in order to increase equity in it - in turn to help our cash flow for purchasing more positively geared properties. We would be using mainly my super -and a little bit of my husbands - but the majority of his would remain with his employer.

Are able to apply a portion of your super into a self managed fund as in my husbands case (all of mine would go into it but only 30,000 of his).

Are you able to borrow against equity built up in properties that are held in self managed super funds ?

What happens to the rent that is received from the property in such a fund ?

Any experts out there that can help would be much appreciated:)

I'm no expert.

But I believe there are rules against a super fund buying properties from related entities.

And no, an SMSF cannot borrow. A big minus for people who are into increasing their borrowings against increasing equity.

I thought I read recently where the rules will be (or have just been) changed to allow SMS funds to be able to borrow to buy property.

Can anybody confirm this?

Maybe I dreamed it :p

I don't have a SMS fund so didn't take too much notice, but thought that is what I heard.

Hi there,

There are two ways you can do this:

I have gone with this first way as it was the ONLY way at the time I set it up.

You set up two entities.
1. SMSF - which yes can be a part of your husbands super and all of yours if you like.
2. A trust - this can be an already existing trust or a new one. Your accountant must advise you on the type and set these up for you.

The two "entities" go into a Joint Venture together.
The entities SMSF and Your Trust then purchase a property together.