Question regarding Life Insurance, TPD, Trauma and IP

Ok im no expert but this is what i have been told in the past...

Bump up your super insurance if you can (make sure you have a good policy) as your premiums are paid with your pre-tax income rather than after-tax income. Also elect your beneficiaries binding if you don't want any delays later.

If you need additional coverage then get another policy to cover further funds and anything not covered by your super policy.

See a financial planner for advice if you need it - I think some can only sell their own suite of products (best to check).

Bump up your super insurance if you can (make sure you have a good policy) as your premiums are paid with your pre-tax income rather than after-tax income. Also elect your beneficiaries binding if you don't want any delays later.

Problem with this is that the money is also trapped in super. Now this isn't such a big deal for life insurance (because if you die, your super becomes part of your estate anyway) but it does impact TPD and income protection because you aren't dead.

Problem with this is that the money is also trapped in super. Now this isn't such a big deal for life insurance (because if you die, your super becomes part of your estate anyway) but it does impact TPD and income protection because you aren't dead.

THat and do you really want to erode the balance of your super? Small amounts early on make for huge balance differences at retirement.

Good point - as mentioned before, suggest OP considers if the policy covers his circumstances. Get a separate policy to cover the rest.

Ps - the above advice was given by a Financial Planner.

Can make extra contributions up to the threshold at 15% tax to offset any reduction.

Whch is good... trouble is many people see super as some abstract money pot which is not really theirs and are happy to whittle it away on insurances and so on without considering the end result.