Self employed finance

I have been working self-employed since 2008 in the sales industry, but in the previous financial year did a brief stint as an employee(also in sales industry), and am now working self employed again in similar job. I want to use 2 years tax returns to apply for finance as self employed, but mortgage broker has advised I cannot use previous tax returns for self employed finance, as I have to have worked self employed the full period straight with no employee positions in the last 2 years.
Is this correct, or can I still get finance? Also I have been advised on somersoft that some lenders will lend on one years tax return, but I suppose since the employee job was in the 2011-2012 financial year that would still be an issue with these lenders?

Also, I assume most people will reply 'ask your broker', so please tell me if you have a specific broker you recommend. My current broker was helpful in getting my first loan, but is a bit offhand now ( probably because I'm now wanting a smaller loan around $160-180k for Nathan/Skater's area). Mortgage brokers experienced with smaller loans please nominate yourselves, and sorry for the long post!

That's not correct - as long as you have the 2 year full financials thats fine. It doesn't matter if you worked as a PAYG during this time. Getting a lender to accept 1 year self employed is hard so if you have 2 years and servicing adds up then it should be ok.

I would be looking for a different broker/banker.

You shouldnt have any issues using the last 2 years financials, maybe even bring in the year before (when you where in the same industry). This should mitigate any issues, 1year financials should be ok.

Might have to be assessed by 'head office' and take a few days extra, but shouldnt have any issues around the financials.