St Kilda advice.

Hi everyone.
Been a while since I've posted, and as usual I'm after some help.

I'm looking to buy myself a place to live. My budget is under $300k and ideally I want to live in St Kilda, which limits me to small 1br apartments.
This doesn't bother me too much, obviously a bit of room to move would be nice but $300k doesn't go far these days.

So I'm after some current opinions on the area from an investment point of view.
Personally I love the area and spend a fair bit of time there. However, as a longer term plan (3-5year) I might consider turning my place into an investment property.

There is one place in particular I have my eye on. 1br apartment in a block of maybe 12 (guessing). I haven't been sent the section 32 yet, but the approximate area is probably 40m2 inside, plus a car park and a courtyard which I guess is about 8m2, maybe (I'm not good at guessing sizes).
It is on the ground floor, which I know is not ideal. It's near the st kilda botanical gardens, but also near a fairly notorious prostitution street. That doesn't bother me personally, but could potentially be a deterrent for tenants down the line.

Anyway...
My intention is to buy a place I like in a good location and do some renovations when I can afford it. I'm not in a rush, I might stay a long time, or I might decide to rent it out.

I'm not sure if I asked any specific questions in there. I'm really just after some current opinions and advice on the area and my situation I guess.

Thanks everyone :)

If you plan to use it as a PPOR and then convert it into an IP, make sure you don't pay off any principle on the loan.

Make sure you have an offset account use this instead as to not ruin the full deductibility of the loan.