Starting at the Very Bottom

:) Hello,
my first post in this busy looking community.

I'm purchasing a cheap property over 5 hours drive from Sydney, way out in the sticks in a small town and not too far from other larger towns.

I actually want to become a property investor and renovate homes and sell them off. I used to be a landscaper years ago so doing up the outside will be my main focus so I will look for these types of homes (with reasonable interiors & solid simple structures). I'm staying away from those big old houses with high ceilings, they just look like way too much work.

When I say bottom I mean bottom and I'm sure many of you would think the price I'm paying is what you would normally spend on renovations. Yes under $80k. But the good thing is I won't have to pay rent anymore which currently is $1,000 a month in Bondi for an average studio plus I won't have a 30 year mortgage. I'm lucky as I work online so a long as I have my laptop & an Internet connection then I can work anywhere. But I do enjoy the beach in summer so I will miss that but eventually I will buy a nice property close to a beach. I'm not looking forward to the cold winters out in the sticks but hopefully it will be just one winter and I can have my first property sold within 6-12 months.

With the FHOG and a good chunk of cash I have saved then I will be putting in 60% deposit and the bank will pay the rest. I expect to have that finalized next week. Since I'm self employed with a fairly new business then obtaining a larger loan would be pushing it so my strategy is to start small and use this property as a stepping stone to bigger things. I will save $12,000 in rent if I stayed there for one year and in 2 years I will have paid of my loan at near what I would have paid on my rent. I will probably just pay the loan off within 6 months anyway if my income is good.