Starting out young

Hey all. First post! Not sure if this is the right place so move if need be.

It seems the biggest friend anyone will have as an investor is time. Well I'm glad I found this site because maybe you guys can help me over the next 1-3 years when I plan to buy my first house. I'm 17 now and have some ambitious savings plans to meet my goals.

Anyway, I have always had a huge interest in property, houses, designing, etc. so it only seems appropriate that property investing is something I would do. What advice can anyone give me about property investment as a complete beginner and learner? Start small in shares to get a bigger deposit? Or take out a loan (I need a credit rating) to reinvest in term deposits? What's the best way for a young person to get finance? I don't see this as a get rich quick scheme btw and I have plans to go to uni. This is all a hypothetical atm since I don't have a full time job but I've finished school now and should have one over the coming months. Sorry for the broad question - any info is welcome :)

I find this all very interesting and hope to be 'part of it' one day. :cool:

Thanks! :D

Hi Murph,
Welcome to the forum :) I think the gubermints first home saver account has been forgotten about?

Check out the details, because I don't think you can beat it at the moment.. Especially if you're not sure what you doing in the share market. Getting a loan for a term deposit is bound to lose money, just check out the interest rates for both and do the maths.

and ask loads of questions here in the meantime :)

You are right, time is on your side. One of the best things you can do is to learn as much as possible about property and being here, reading and contributing, you will learn far more than you can imagine.