'Storm Financial' disaster.

And the most outrageous thing about it is that her salary was listed as $104k, MONTHLY, AFTER TAX!! :eek:

Here's the quote from the 60 minutes link:

reporter: "It says here that your monthly income after tax was $104,000 - correct?"

widow: "No, definitely not."

Dodgy dealings there somewhere thats for sure.

Numbers added in after? Bad storm and CBA

Numbers in before and signed off by punter? Bad punter, Storm and CBA.

Some updates on Storm

Storm Financial in bid to fight Commonwealth Bank

March 17th, 2009

EMMANUEL and Julie Cassimatis have appealed to devastated clients and creditors of Storm Financial to join them in the fight against the `common enemy' _ the Commonwealth Bank.

However, administrators of their failed wealth adviser yesterday rejected their proposal for a deed of company arrangement (DOCA) and instead recommended creditors vote to wind up Storm and take their chances of getting a return by putting the company into liquidation.

It is believed the administrator's report reveals that Storm owed the Commonwealth Bank of Australia (CBA) $27,094,574 at the time of its closure and that 54 clients _ excluding CBA _ have so far made claims totalling $43,470,526 against Storm Financial.

These were the developments yesterday as the Storm founders sought to keep the company afloat and partially in their hands to fight the bank.

In the DOCA to be put to creditors next week, the Cassimatises have proposed administrators use the controversial $2 million `dividend' the Storm founders paid themselves last year to fund court action against the bank.

"We have a common enemy _ let us work together to defeat the CBA for what it has done to all of us," the Cassimatises said in documents accompanying the DOCA.

They claimed this would be a better outcome for creditors and clients because they would not have to pay for the court action.

However, clients also have to abandon any claims against Storm, its employees and its officers, including the Cassimatises, for the advice they gave that led to their $1 billion losses.

...Continues in Link

$2m approved to Storm co-founders just before crash

THE board of failed Storm Financial approved the payment of millions to co-founders Emmanuel and Julie Cassimatis less than three weeks before it collapsed.

The vote was made possible by a key appointment of a Cassimatis relative to the six-member board after four of them had resigned.

Details of the final desperate days before the Townsville company crashed in mid-January are exposed for the first time in an administrator's report released this week.

Investors who trusted Storm with their life savings and now face financial disaster because of the sharemarket's decline reacted with outrage yesterday when told of the revelations.

"It brings them under suspicion and by any standard it doesn't look good," said Mark Weir, co-chairman of the Storm Investors Consumer Action Group.

"If they acted with malfeasance or maladministration, they deserve everything they get in court."

The report reveals that Ms Cassimatis's sister, Dawn Collett, was appointed to the board on December 23. Her vote was crucial in approving the $2 million dividend payment to Mr and Mrs Cassimatis despite evidence strongly suggesting Storm was insolvent by December 1.

...Continues in Link

Storm Financial founders fail to back up claims of bank conspiracy

Storm Financial founders Emmanuel and Julie Cassimatis have tried to paint themselves as victims of a Commonwealth Bank conspiracy to bring them down.

But as time goes by and a clearer picture emerges of how Storm was run and why it collapsed, the couple are looking less like victims and more like architects of their own demise.

That is not to say that the CBA will escape being the subject of class actions and other legal moves for damages by former Storm clients and possibly the Storm liquidator. The bank is in the sights of specialist litigator Slater & Gordon, which has signed up about 1000 people to a class action.

But a report to creditors released yesterday by Ivor Worrell and Raj Khatri of Worrells Solvency and Forensic Accountants says the couple who founded Storm in Townsville in 1994 have yet to supply documents to back up two key allegations made against CBA.

...Continues in Link

Storm over $2m last-ditch dividend

February 24, 2009

EMMANUEL and Julie Cassimatis were the only remaining directors at Storm Financial when they controversially paid themselves a $2 million dividend from the now-failed financial adviser just before Christmas.

Documents obtained by the Herald reveal that the four non-executive company directors resigned from the company in the four days between the Australian Securities and Investments Commission starting its investigation into the company and the dividend being paid on December 15.

Less than a month later Storm's founder, Mr Cassimatis, was forced to put the company into administration.

...Continues in Link

hi all
interesting what will happen with asic in there now
will we see the real figures on the whole mess
will there be some question asked about
lenders duty of care
solicitors duty of care
financial advicers duty of care
and maybe a couple of calls to the local fraud squad
for me I think asic needs to do a couple of things
1 find out what happened and that will take them about 1/2hr
2 start to get a few people infront of judges
3 start to show a few teeth to a few lenders
with this is not on and hit a few big fines out and make those fines that can't be claimed off the balance sheet so they have to go off profit that hurts twice as much
4 start looking at the advicers and how they can advice on this type of project and how they have the capacity to create credit.
I am not a great lover of asic as I see it as toothless tiger it says alot but does very little this is a prime example of start not to do the talk but do the walk
if there is a problem that asic can get it teeth into it this and I think they need to and if they don't there will be afew that will be asking why not
is this mates rates.
for me this whole bundle lands on the lenders door step
so yes the directors are trying to get themselves out of this mess and good on them for trying it was never going to happen but I like people that try.
but for me if it was the ato and you try to get out of you debt you get hit with double the fine
so if cba is trying to hit a 75 year old lady and it found that what they did or are doing was wrong( not saying it was) but if it found it was then same for me double the fine.
and if cba share holders don't like it fine vote off the board and get another in
if you don't then your happy if they do it again triple the fine
its great to say this should not happen and this should not happen but start hitting out real fines
for storm 500mil loss
100mil fine that will get the board rooms buzzing
that will stimulate the economy
a few red wines will be dropped on that one
or if the mortgae should not have been signed cancel the mortgage and the fine is the value of the mortgage
so if the loan was 1.5mil
cancel the 1.5 mil and the fine is 1.5mil and the lender has to recover from the broker
in this case the broker is storm so they are unsecure creditors.
lets see how that would go down.
and the 1.5 can't be put against tax so has to come off profit after tax as it to be seen the same as a parking fine in that the company can't pay it
or even better have the directors of the lender be responcible for it personally
so the directors of the fund at the time the loan was taken out are personally respocible for the debt and the fine must come out of wages and bonuses and asic garnshes the wages
now that would be fun
and asic should but in place as they can a prelim requirement and work out what the possible fine could be and makes the company or group but the fine upfront and in escrow incase the defendant can't pay
so if thy think the lender is at fault they put the money upfront for the directors for the funder.
give me some teeth and I can give them a few clues of what to do.
asic will be reading this board so they can if need be ask a few questions

Some have unrealistic goals. Seems they want to be recompensed for ALL losses.

Any chance we can sue CBA for our GFC losses?

Some have unrealistic goals. Seems they want to be recompensed for ALL losses.

Any chance we can sue CBA for our GFC losses?
Nobody pointed a gun to these peoples head to get a loan, they live a lifetime and pretended they didn't know what they were doing ? Get real, talk about spineless.

Bit harsh there. They were trying to do what was expected of them by becoming self-funded retirees. They just went about it the wrong way.
Nobody pointed a gun to these peoples head to get a loan,
Stay tuned for when RE investment scam unravels. You will hear a lot of people blaming the banks then too.

yes may be a bit harsh, but I had it with people blaming everything else under the sun except their own responsibility.
Most of us do. Will you 'grin and bear it' when your plan comes unstuck?

I've had it with all the property investors here on their high horses telling the world they should all be model citizens like them. The world doesn't need entrepreneurs to go out and take risks opening new businesses and mines, developing new technologies etc it just needs property investors. We just need to rent houses to each other.

And you think your smart?

Most of us do. Will you 'grin and bear it' when your plan comes unstuck?
I do and I will, my geared fund dropped 40%, I don't blame anyone.
So if your plan comes unstuck you just blame other people ?!

I've had it with all the property investors here on their high horses telling the world they should all be model citizens like them. The world doesn't need entrepreneurs to go out and take risks opening new businesses and mines, developing new technologies etc it just needs property investors. We just need to rent houses to each other.
Whos words is this ?

And you think your smart?
Not the least, no smarter than you or Joe bloke or anyone else.

Will you 'grin and bear it' when your plan comes unstuck?
Yes, I am. I don't like it, but I am "grinning and bearing it", and trying to turn things around. :)

With any investment, there are risks. Some risks are highly foreseeable - the foremost being the risk of moves in the market - and others are less foreseeable. I find it hard to justify compensating people who want to be immunised from the effects of the market - the most visible, obvious risk associated with any investment - when many people have lost lots of money for reasons that were far less foreseeable.

For example, I'm glad to see the following groups compensated: victims of clever frauds (not so much people who are just very gullible, but people defrauded by those in whom they reasonably placed trust), victims of the negligence of others (solicitors, surveyors, builders, government departments, etc), victims of civil unrest (eg collapse of banks and institutions), and victims of "forces of nature" (eg an owner of beachfront property which just slides into the ocean after a storm and ceases to exist).

But when there are many people in the above groups who are unable to obtain any compensation, I find it hard to be passionate about compensating people who simply make a bad investment. :eek: I have sympathy that they're paying such a heavy price for their poor decision-making, but I find it hard to justify compensating them.

Obviously, anybody who was lied to (eg assured that losses were limited to their cash investment), or taken advantage of (eg people who obviously weren't competent to make such commitments), are in a different category to those who are simply upset at having made a bad investment.

Storm clients WERE victims of fraud, or at best malpractice from the people they trusted. I believe CBA should compensate for their negligence and breach of fiduciary duty. I just don't believe "market" losses should be recompensed. I suspect Manny Cassimatis to be guilty of professional misconduct but that will not be tested in court and ATSIC is protecting their own.

Of the victims I know, a friend of my wife was a widow. A mate of mine worked his bum off running a business all his life and "contracted out" the investment bit because he was busy. A number were like that.

But read the pages here, the tales of woe are continuous. Bad tenants, shonky tradies, miserable bankers. Having a little whinge is traditional Australian. :D The individual posters are just forgotten names but is it too much to ask for a little consistency?

Gents,
Stop the fighting over this.
1) Alot of storm clients were given bad advice that they did not understand, they thought everything was legit. These people who invested were ordinary people not investors.
2) These clients only sought advice with what to do with a lump sum of super on reitrement. The strategy that they were given were not appropiate for 60+ people.

As i said, you guys posting here are informed investors, these people werent.

In my opinion, that strategy can only work if you can quarantine some assets outside personal names if things go pear shape - this is what professioal business men and investors do, yet in this case was never done. Another thing that i didnt think was appropiate was the asset allocation of these funds.

Storm clients WERE victims of fraud, or at best malpractice from the people they trusted. I believe CBA should compensate for their negligence and breach of fiduciary duty.
Sunfish, it's a complex case and whilst I've read a number of articles, perhaps you can save me from re-reading it all, because I'm obviously missing something. I understand that Storm overstated some people's incomes. That was the wrong thing to do, but did the clients have knowledge of it, and sign false declarations? What wrongdoing is Commbank accused of? How were they negligent? In which manner did they breach their fiduciary duty?
Gents,
Stop the fighting over this.
1) I'm not a gent, and 2) we're not fighting, we're discussing. ;) And if there's information I've forgotten or that I'm not aware of, I'm fully prepared to change my position. I seriously would like more insight into precisely how this is Storm or Commbank's fault rather than the investors.
Shaneelastic said:
1) Alot of storm clients were given bad advice that they did not understand, they thought everything was legit. These people who invested were ordinary people not investors.
How was it not legit? And aren't investors just people who invest? :confused: What do you mean by "ordinary people", as opposed to ...? Isn't it each individual's responsibility not to invest in things that they don't understand? (And, in fairness, I think many of us are pretty scornful of people who invest in property and then have no idea of what their obligations are as landlords. :rolleyes:) If you're investing your entire life savings, don't you owe it to yourself to be prudent and run the suggestions past another adviser, or a trusted friend or accountant?
Shaneelastic said:
2) These clients only sought advice with what to do with a lump sum of super on reitrement. The strategy that they were given were not appropiate for 60+ people.
Isn't that ultimately for the client to decide, as to whether a strategy is "appropriate"? Did Storm actually breach any duties or obligations? I agree that the strategy wouldn't be appropriate for most retirees, but what I'm questioning is whose responsibility is it to make that decision? If that is the role of a financial planner - and obviously I don't know or I wouldn't be asking - then the situation is much more grey. I just would have thought the financial planner's job was to explain each investment, its pros and cons, and that the client would ultimately choose the appropriate vehicle, and bear the consequences of that choice. I would have thought that unless the financial planner lied, or directed money to a different investment than requested by the client, etc, that the consequences of the investment decision lie with the client.

I'm genuinely interested to hear more thoughts from Sunfish, as he knows somebody who's unfortunately caught up in this debacle, and Shaneelastic, who I'm guessing is a financial planner (or knows a bit about it).

I am not fully conversant with the details but I will say that I know a number of business people who like to employ the appropriate experts in each field.

So a person who is a chef is not going to know all about investing, they follow the advice of the government, their accountant and their bank and employ a government licensed financial advisor to invest their saving on their behalf.

If that advisor then recommends a certain strategy then of course they are going to follow it, otherwise what is the point of engaging an advisor ?

This applies to any situation really, no one is an expert on everything so we employ someone to do the job. If that"expert" is negligent then they should be held liable for loss IMO.

If that advisor then recommends a certain strategy then of course they are going to follow it, otherwise what is the point of engaging an advisor ?

This applies to any situation really, no one is an expert on everything so we employ someone to do the job. If that"expert" is negligent then they should be held liable for loss IMO.
I see the role of the expert as being to give information, and it always remains your role to make the decision based on that information, and to accept responsibility for the consequences of your decision.

These people didn't need to be investment experts; they just needed to ask one common sense question: "What's the worst possible outcome from making this investment?", or "What's the maximum that I could lose?" Surely it's not unreasonable to expect people to ask this, is it? :confused:

Obviously if the expert gave them false information, eg told them they could only lose their capital but didn't tell them that their other assets were also at risk, then I agree that they should be held responsible.

I see the role of the expert as being to give information, and it always remains your role to make the decision based on that information, and to accept responsibility for the consequences of your decision.

These people didn't need to be investment experts; they just needed to ask one common sense question: "What's the worst possible outcome from making this investment?", or "What's the maximum that I could lose?" Surely it's not unreasonable to expect people to ask this, is it? :confused:

Obviously if the expert gave them false information, eg told them they could only lose their capital but didn't tell them that their other assets were also at risk, then I agree that they should be held responsible.

I tend to disagree, simply because if someone is designated an expert by virtue of the fact that they have passed exams and been registered by the government to perform a task they should do so in a competent fashion.

We have a Doctor in QLD being put in jail because he botched a job or three, the same rules apply here, the financial advisor screwed up so they are responsible IMO.

If it good enough to put a Doc in jail then these FAs should go to jail as well, not as long, but they did not perform their jobs properly even though they are experts.

This can apply to any situation, if you get someone to build a house and it falls down a year later, they have an obligation to fix it. You can't expect people to know all about everything, not possible !

Hi Macca

I think ur tag line is useful here.

The comparison between the medical and financial isnt a reasonable one.

One has consequences far outside the "specialists" control, the other doesnt.

One had clear indications that there were issues over a longish period, the other did not.

While I agree the risk management of the storm stuff was very poor, suggesting this is criminal conduct makes for some interesting transference of ultimate responseability.

The builder example is a good one. The builder is not legally allowed to carry the risk and has transferred the risk to a Home Warranty Insurance.

In the FP world, thats what professional indemnity insurance is for..........................