Sworn Valuation Costs?

Hi, just wanting to know an estimate on what a "sworn valuation" would cost for a commercial property we are hoping to purchase. The property is being sold for around 350k and we need the valuation apply for the bank loan.

Any info would be fantastic. Cheers J

I just had one done last week in Melbourne. It was for a property over $1M, but I don't think that was the reason for the high cost ($1400+GST), but because there's a lot more work in figuring out the value of CP

Thanks for the replies, the NAB gave us a quote of $2500 +GST for a sworn valuation. Seems very high? The property we are wanting to purchase for $350,000 has a value of the shire rates of around $680,000. When getting a sworn valuation can we chose our own valuer or do we have to use the one suggested by the bank? Sorry for all the questions, complete newbies :eek:
We are getting a very good deal on this commercial property as it is owned by a relative. It has a annual income of $71,000.

I would expect it to cost between $1200 and $1800 + GST if it was in Melbourne.

Firstly decide on the lender, then find out a list of acceptable commercial valuers from them and ring around.

Also ask the bank people if they will apccept a valuation you order yourself as with residential many banks will not accepta valuation that is not ordered through their system - even if it is from a panel valuer.

I know that the costs seems high compared to a residemtial valuation but it is a full days work and commercial valuers get a lower percentage of the fee as income than residential valuers.

The property we are wanting to purchase for $350,000 has a value of the shire rates of around $680,000.

so the obvious answer for me is

dont worry about the cost of the val since its insignificant in the scheme of YOUR deal, worry about the $ on the valuation :)

ta
rolf

so the obvious answer for me is