Terminate sale contract due to illegal building?

There's two weeks until settlement goes through on my cottage. Now suddenly the purchaser has requested to view council house plans and permits in case there has been illegal building completed by myself or the previous owner/s.
Can the purchaser use this as an excuse to cancel the house sale?
There is no clause in my sale contract stating this. In fact the purchaser said that they wanted a quick settlement and wouldn't bother with a building inspection if I agreed to a lesser price.
I agreed as I needed to sell ASAP.
Now I'm pretty sure I haven't completed anything that would require permits, but I'm unsure of the previous owner/s. If there has been illegal building etc, can the purchaser use this as an excuse to legally pull out of the sale?

Also if I refuse to allow them to view the plans can they also use this as an excuse to legally pull out of the sale?

So worried @_@

Thanks for any advice and input all!

I'm not a lawyer - but unless there is a building & inspection clause - they got nothing and your safe.

The only issue might be the bank wont lend against the property (or values it too low) due to that...

The purchaser has just decided to check all this now? :confused:

Best call your conveyancer/legal rep 1st thing in the morning but I'd suspect that the cooling off period is well past.

Can the purchaser use this as an excuse to cancel the house sale?
No.
mr_milkman said:
Also if I refuse to allow them to view the plans can they also use this as an excuse to legally pull out of the sale?
No, but they can probably view the plans without your permission, anyway. These sorts of documents are usually public records.