Townplanning Help Please (URGENT)

Hi,

I recently bought a property in Ardeer VIC which sits within the Brimbank Shire.

I want to build a Unit/Townhouse on my property out the back and the council told me the first step is to go see a local townplanner/draftsman who will draw the plans and then submit them to Council for approval.

However, as this is my first time, I have no idea if I would be getting ripped off from someone regarding this so I was hoping you guys could give me an idea of costs associated for the above. I rang 1 company today and he told me he'd charge me $7500 for the Town Planning submission which includes all the drawings etc and that it'll cost me around another $3500 for Soil tests, engineering etc. All up he said it'll cost around $11-$12K for this process.

Does that sound right or is he trying to rip me off? Please help!

If someone can give me some idea on what I should look for, what questions to ask, step by step processes etc, that would be brilliant.

Also, if anyone knows of a good honest and reasonably prices Townplanner/Draftsman that can do the above for me (bonus if lives in Brimbank), that would be great too.

Many thanks,

littletee

First off Littletee you need someone from your State to help...

But in the meantime
1) Get a DA (development application form) from you Council and start reading its requirements and also read the council Website.

2) Did the planning department at Council say you can put a unit on your land? You have inferred this.

3) Price local draftsmen - we got a shock yesterday one guy quoted us $15 per square metre to draw a duplex plan and that would cost us $5250.

4) Talk to an experienced local builder who has his own unit plans drawn up and has built units before. IMHO this is the way to go and IMHO you do not need to employ a Town Planner (unless you are doing something huge).

5) If this is in your own back yard - what was the soil test under your house?

6) Engineer- leave this up to the builder.