Trust Types/advantages

so please excuse me on my complete lack of knowledge in this area

when buying IPs, other then putting it in your personal name

I hear everyone talks about trusts/unit/hybrid/discretionary

any chance someone could tell me what the pros/cons are

Im essentailly looking for one that will protect my other ips from eachtoher in the worst case scenario....if possilbe

I'd also be interested to know in lay terms pros and cons of each and when one kind would prevail over another.

I'm an accountant, but not involved in trust issues or the setting up of different structures (I took the less stressful career path of becoming a CFO in a law firm) but you'd think I'd be able to grasp it, wouldn't you?..Even got an HD in company law..No way !..... so I can totally understand how someone not from that background would find it all so confusing.

I see a post from TerryW coming.

Regards

Discretionary trusts will vary in type - hundreds of different ways to set them up. But basically no one beneficiary will have any vested interest in the assets of the trust. The trustee owns the property for the benefit of a wide class of beneficiaries with no one beneficiary having any ownership of anything. So if a beneficiary goes bankrupt there is nothing to lose.

Unit trusts - also many different types. Fixed and non fixed etc. These are trusts which are set up so the unit holders are entitled to fixed shares of the income and/or capital. Fixed unit trusts are where the entitlement is fixed and cannot be varied and the unit holder can demand transfer of the property to their name.

Bare trust - where A owns X for B. There is no discretion. B owns the property but it is in A's name. Like a SMSF with a custodian trust owning the property, legally, until the loan is paid off.

Testamentary - a trust formed via a will. Could be unit or discretionary or hybrid.