Trusts v Own name

How do you decide which is better? I am interested in others perspective / 2cents on this.

I work in a factory and wife works in public service. We don't have a business and are not likely to own/ run a business in the future. We have 3 young children.

Given your jobs, you probably don't have much of a risk of being sued, so the asset protection aspect of a trust probably doesn't make the cost worthwhile.

The other advantage of a trust is the tax flexibility. This only really becomes useful for non self employed people when the properties are heavily positive geared and/or one person is in a very high income tax bracket when the other is in a much lower bracket.

An exception to all this might be if you've already got a number of properties, as the asset and cashflow position starts to change various perceptions of liability and income. Most people would own a few IPs in their own name prior to going down the trust path.

How do you decide which is better? I am interested in others perspective / 2cents on this.

I work in a factory and wife works in public service. We don't have a business and are not likely to own/ run a business in the future. We have 3 young children.

It depends on your circumstances, and what you consider to be more important. Here are some ideas:

Family trusts offer some asset protection, which given you're both employees, you don't need in terms of work liability. If you're just starting, the property is likely to be negatively geared, which you can't claim against your personal income if it's in a family trust. That will be a cost to you. When the properties become tax positive, the income streaming ability of a family trust is valuable, but recent tax changes means you can only distribute a few hundred dollars tax effectively to each child under 18.