Understanding the risks...

Hi guys,

I'm very new to this and I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction to find some more information on utilizing assets and the risk involved.

Pretty much, I'm 23 years old at the moment, and am very interested in property investment. I am still living at home, but I actually co-own our house with my sister. We estimate the place to now be worth around $250K - $280K, so I have about $125K in the house (no debts, its ours).

At the moment I earn roughly $35K- $40K PA, and have saved $15K for a deposit, which should be $30K by this time next year, when I'm looking at getting an IP.

The problem is, I don't fully understand how equity works, and my sister is worried that if I borrow against the equity our place, I'll be putting the family home at risk...

Thanks in advance for any help!

I'm just hoping that you guys can point me in the right direction of some reading material, or someone in the Brisbane area I can talk to get a better understanding of the risks associated with IP's. :confused:

Right now, you don't know what you don't know. So you need to read the basics. Read Jan Somers, Robert Kiyosaki (the first three, anyway), the Richest Man in Babylon and Peter Spann.

That'll give you the basics. Right now even if we explained it to you, you will just come back with a million more questions. Much better if you get some grounding at your own speed first.
Alex

Risk can be mitigated with a trust structure.

Risk can be mitigated by having a buffer of cash to pay interest.

Risk can be mitigated by using different lenders.

Risk can be mitigated by not xcol.

Risk can be mitigated by buying in an area which has high rental demand.

Risk can be mitigated by having a large deposit.