What do I need prior to the auction

I'm intending on buying a property at auction on the weekend. As this is my first time I want to ensure I have prepared fully before hand.

Do I need to organise a bank cheque or anything or do the vendors normally accept a regular cheque?
Should I ask the agent for copies of anything before hand...e.g. the contract etc.? I don't want to sound too keen by ringing him and asking him unnecessarily.

I have done my due diligence and am pretty sure I know what the property is worth and have read all the auction tips on the forums, so apart from the above I think I am pretty prepared.

You will need to contact the selling agent ASAP to find out the conditions of sale - eg, settlment, bank cheque/personal cheque/transfer options for deposit, deposit amount etc.
If you wish to vary any of these standard terms, you will need to get approval before auction day, otherwise you'll be stuck with the standard condition, which may not suit you.
I'd also be thinking of a bidding strategy on auction day. Get there early and watch the other buyers. See who's really interested so you know who the competition is. Work out if you want to go in early or open the bidding to signal your intention as a serious buyer. Or wait until the hammer is about to drop, then come in out of nowhere with a bid quite a bit higher than the previous bid, but still within your range. This tactic can sometimes break the rythm of the auction and it's $1k or $500 rises. While the other bidders are doing their sums, the third and final call goes out and the hammer drops.
You need a plan. Winging it on auction day isn't a good strategy, in my opinion.

Rob

I went to an auction last Saturday at which I bid but was unsuccessful.

Prior to auction I:

1) Established reserve price
2) Obtained a copy of the contract and had my solicitor check it out
2) Contacted my mortgage broker and had the finance arranged
3) Took a builder to the premises and had a building check