what does a put and call option mean?

Does this help:

"A Call option enables an option buyer to set a maximum price (rate) at which to buy.

A Put option enables the buyer to set a minimum price at which to sell."

I assume a Put & call option would be both options together.

i'm no expert, but I found this explanation somewhere.

abc's definition sounds good,

I would say a buying a call option is the right to buy something at a fixed price - you see a nice house down the street for sale and tell the owner you want an option to buy it within two weeks for $400k - that is a call option.

A put option is the right to sell something for a fixed price - you are thinking about selling your house but aren't quite sure - so you buy a put option from a relative - in this scenario you have the ability to sell it to the person within the time specified - though they do not have the right to demand you sell it.

Call and put options are quite common in the share market, but rarer in real estate.

In the share market, I can buy a call option for a share which I think will go up. Say, NAB is $31.50 today, and I think it will go up to $32.50. I could pay, say, 20c for the right, but not the obligation, to buy those shares at the end of next month for $32.00. I pay the 20c to the person who owns the shares.

If the share rises to $32.50 by the end of that month, the person who owns the shares must (if I ask) sell me the shares to me for $32.00. I can immediately sell those same shares for $32.50- so I make a profit of 30c (sell price less buy price less option price).

If the share does not rise above $32, the person who owns the shares keeps the 20c, and I lose my money.

A put works in the opposite way. If I think the market will go down, I can buy a put- and if the share has gone down to less than the "strike price", I make a profit. If it hasn't, I lose my premium.

There are always two parties in Calls or Puts. One is a seller another is a buyer.