What to offer?

Hi everyone, I am currently looking at putting an offer on a unit. It is listed for $309K but the RE said they will look at offers over $279K now. I believe through my own research it has a value of approx. $285K, however I would like to pay below value.
Do you think it is wise to offer below $279K and how much below would you go?
I would really value peoples opinion on this as I am relatively new to this.
Cheers

250k unconditional 14 day settlement (if u can buy that quick and uncon)

Add in a nice big juicy deposit equal to the agent's fee (that will sit in the agent's trust account and be baiting the agent to release to himslef in a hurry) will make the agent work hard for you, not the seller.

250k unconditional 14 day settlement (if u can buy that quick and uncon)

And once the agent gets up from the floor laughing, he will probably hang up on you. Theres lowballing, then theres stupidity.

Still, worth a try I guess :)

Thank you all for your suggestions. I was thinking maybe around $270K so it gives me the confidence to do so, maybe I will try $268K as $250K maybe a bit low seen I don't want to go unconditional. The PM has told me they are very motivated because of divorce settlement.

And once the agent gets up from the floor laughing, he will probably hang up on you. Theres lowballing, then theres stupidity.

Still, worth a try I guess :)

How is that lowballing?
Depends on the market. Sounds pretty slow if it started at 309k. Try 15-20% off. They can only say no. Then you can try another offer.
If they counteroffer on your lowball, you're in!

I would leave some room to negotiate up after they have refused your initial offer. Eg, they prob want 279k, you want to buy low - so you put in 265k, they put in 280k, then you say you'll meet them halfway at 272.5 which shows good will on your behalf, who knows they might actually just go for it ;)