What would you do? Take a profit?

Hi everyone, I hope you don't mind me posting on here for some opinions/thoughts on my situation.

My husband and I have been investing in Melbourne property since 1997 and we are now both 40 years old. We have just paid off our own home and would really like to upgrade to our "dream home", which would cost around $850,000 including stamp duty.

We are therefore thinking of selling our current PPOR for around $700,000. Reasons for selling are:
  • There would be no CGT payable as it is our PPOR
  • It is an old house and we can foresee having to spend a lot on it for maintenance in upcoming years
  • There is a large block of land at the back and we are worried that the block will be sold and overdeveloped, thus decreasing the value of our property
  • The loan is quite high ($550,000) and if we rent it out and interest rates continue to go up it will cost us a fair bit, even after negative gearing

Perhaps more contentiously, we are also thinking of selling the first IP that we bought in 1997. It is a 2 bedroom unit valued at around $500,000. We have equity in it of $375,000 and it will be around 1/3 CGT free as we lived in it for a while in our early years. Reasons for selling this unit are:

• We think it prudent to take such a good profit. It would really help to set us up in the future and make life far more comfortable. The fact it is party CGT free is also tempting
  • We are also uneasy about Melbourne property prices as it seems astounding that a 2 bedroom unit is worth this amount (the valuation is pretty spot on as it is a neat unit in a very exclusive/sought after suburb where units are scarce)

I know selling the unit this goes against the theory of buy and hold, but isn't there also some merit in taking an actual profit rather than just having profit on paper?