Why don't you come into the chat room?

When I first joined the forum back in July 2003 the IP Chat was going off.

There was 20+ people in there just about all the time (or so it seemed) and they were talking about all things IP related, and a few things not IP related.

For me, as a complete newbie back then, it was a tremendous learning experience being able to sit and listen (and take part) in discussions between some of the forums most experienced (and succesful) property investors.

Sadly, these days things are a little different. :(

There still is a crew of regulars, but we dont seem to have many new forumites coming in and having a yak.

So, for the majority of forumites who dont chat - why don't you?

Similarly, regular chatters may also wish to comment on why they keep coming back to the chat?

Personally, learning experience aside (which continues to this day), I have made some very good friends through the chat and it's a great way for me to keep in touch and kick about ideas with them.

And if that doesn't appeal to you, perhaps this might - it is a great place to get investment tips! ;)

I bought my first IP in Mackay as a result of comments that see_change made in the chat. He'd just bought up half of Rockhampton and made comments about the property boom "wave" going up the Queensland coast. So I looked at a map, saw that Mackay was the next major place further north and started doing my research. To cut a longish story short I bought in the Mackay area for $129k, sold for $200k ($71k / 55% gross in 14 months). Thank you chat (and sc)!

For those that are interested, please see the links below:

Accessing the Chat Room

Java Chat

CGI:IRC Web Chat

Chatting with an IRC Client

Mark :)

ps. We don't bite. :cool:

pps. If it was because you don't know how to chat, you'd better find a new excuse. :D

Last edited:
Pitt St said:
ps. We don't bite. :cool:
You sure about that??? :p