Would you buy from an invester group or similar?

I am a property developer about to embark on a pre-sales marketing campaign for my latest development and was wondering about peoples view regarding buying from investor groups, financial advisors and/or mortgage brokers. In short would you buy from them? or have you in the past? Or whats your views in general.

In the past I have relied solely on real estate agencies and direct investment. Direct investment i.e. those investors who seem to keep buying from me over the years obviously yields the best outcome for both parties given I don't pay commissions and can provide the best discount upfront however as my projects get larger and more numerous I have sought to expand the approach to include the above mentioned groups.

My concern has always been based on the fact I have come across my fair share of inscrutable characters within these industries which has left me cautious and hence my question to the forum.

In short I am curious to know how many people here have purchased through an investor group, fin advisor or similar before.

If so what have been your experiences and would you recommend it to someone else.

Thanks in advance.

my issue when looking at those groups is:

- they charge a fee, which is obviously worked into the price
- their prices are usually inflated for the area and are aimed at inexperienced investors, and
- they lie

there is a development near me i was interested in, until the bottom price came in at $397,500 - well above what the area is currently worth.