Young Investor - Building Solid Foundations

Hey Everyone,

Long time lurker, but haven’t been posting much. I've finally got myself into a position to dive head first into the property market and wanted to openly discuss some options.

Brief background
I'm 25, and recently come back from a gap year (get the travel out of the system whilst I'm young). I've settled into a good job on the Sunshine Coast (QLD) and am currently saving significantly. I haven’t plenty of opportunity for promotion and within 10 years aim to be earning 200k+ per year (salary).

I own 50% of a property worth 500k (400k owing) that is neutrally geared.

I am currently saving $3,500 a month (earn 100k a year) and have $20k saved up thus far for a deposit.

The aim is to acquire a property per year (more if possible) that are neutrally/positively geared. I am aware that the days of 10 year cycles are somewhat behind us, therefore more creative methods need to be utilized.
I work in construction (project management) therefore I am comfortable with developments/subdivisions etc... but don't have much experience with small scale projects (houses/units etc...).

I have spent the last 2 months researching into the northern side of Brisbane and am actively looking in around Chermside. However, on the flip side I have been considering apartments in the CBD (little maintenance, hold and forget).
Below is a few of the options I'm exploring
- Subdividing blocks
- Build a granny flat
- Convert to dual living
- Regional CF+ areas
- Block of land and build a house/duplex/villas

As a general note, I've only been looking for properties with potential for improvements (to increase return/equity).

I feel that I'm looking too wide, and that I should pick a strategy and stick to it. I am also open to the idea of shares/metals etc...

I'm meeting with a 'property strategist' next week to discuss options and hopefully tailer a system that suits my situation.