Zoning help

Hi

New to this forum, hoping I can get some advice.

I am not a property investor, I am in fact a desperate tennent in Melbourne looking for a suitable place. The last place I turned up to in inner Melbourne had 70 people come through the door in 20 minutes and all of them put in an application.
I have been involved in secret bidding wars with estate agents to try to secure a place. I am now at the verge of trying to bribe an agent.

Basically I am now at the point where I am looking at leasing a commercial property to live in.
Being owners and investors, I wondered if you had any (helpfull) advice.
I dont understand the zoning system, it seems some comercial properties have residences attached - What is the situation with these? If I rented these properties would I have to be running business?

If I am forced to lease a property zoned purely for commercial purposes. Could I live in it on the sly and have a business that has zero turnover?

My other thought is doing a title search on some of the thousands of vacent commercial/industrial properties and approach the owners to see if I can lease cash in hand. How are owners likely to react to this, I am thinking litagation etc. Basically how should I approach owners?

I know some of you will frown on this but before you judge me maybe have a read of this article
http://candobetter.org/node/610
If the mods take umbridge to this, can you please just edit out what you deem inappropriate rather than deleting the whole thread.
Thanks

Space, can sure with a few peope to bring the cost down. Some are very habitable, luxurious even. For the cost relative to space, once you get a few people in it becomes cheap to live in a good area. I also have various non comercial projects I want to do and I need space for them

If you're more than happy to have a few people share with you why not just move into someone elses share house instead?