Next Interest Rate Movement down?

I think if the Carbon Tax goes through, that alone will see a 0.25% interest rate rise. Some here say the RBA will look at the Carbon Tax as a one off and not raise. They raised interest rates 4 times when the GST was introduced (2.5% inflation effect vs 0.7% of the Carbon Tax).

Carbon price may trigger rate hikes

So I see interest rates rising in general, with now and additional 0.25% being added. Maybe 0.5% if the Treasury modelling is inaccurate and costs go up more than expected from the Carbon Tax.

You might surprised....with countries like Taiwan....they are now more like developed countries.

Also....they probably pay $12-16 plus another 15-20% on top for super and workers comp, etc. per hour to process the fish...Taiwan is probably not too far behind. They also have super and taxes.

So based on that lets say the Australian per unit cost is $18 per hour (inclusive of super and other items) and Taiwan is $11 per hours. That leaves a $7 differential. But then you have to cover for spoilage and transport from overseas.

At the end of the day sure the product may 20-30% cheaper but why the 100% markup???? Particularly given that people like Woolies have their own trucking and logistics and petrol arm...are they also running these at extreme profit???

Cost of labour. If you want all the protections for workers (leave loading, holiday rates), etc then you pay more for the goods and services these workers produce.
If you want the labour standards as in Taiwan, then you get things cheaper.

Hah not always I agree with the two guys above me. Carbon tax unites all the anti-socialists here.

Speaking of Taiwan, it should've been a much more developed country if not for former Democratic (akin to a Greenie, ALP, Socialist, American Democrats, Hippie, World Peace) President Chen Shui Bian, who was in power for too long and his anti-China and pro-US stance cost him billions of investments.

The new Republican (akin to an American Republican, Chinese Communisty Party, Tories, Liberal Party) President Ma Ying Jeou is taking the country to the next level of advancement that it should've hit in the early 2000s. For the record, if we think Taiwan is advanced, should check out Shanghai + Hong Kong. Consistently ranked far ahead of Sydney these days on economic scale.

Anyway whole-heartedly agree with the points about welfare payments / centrelink payments etc and overpaid bureaucrats who do nothing (I've lost count how many people who do nothing and are overpaid that I know are government agencies including the ATO and ASIC). We're not much better than Greece honestly, except we don't let people retire before 65.

*snip*

The new Republican (akin to an American Republican, Chinese Communisty Party, Tories, Liberal Party) President Ma Ying Jeou is taking the country to the next level of advancement that it should've hit in the early 2000s. For the record, if we think Taiwan is advanced, should check out Shanghai + Hong Kong. Consistently ranked far ahead of Sydney these days on economic scale.

*snip*

You're not seeing the irony in that paragraph, I take it?

Ditto. same as I said in my post above.
These people just can't seem to link the policies to the impacts they have on their living costs.

I'm sure she votes Labor and supports the Carbon Tax. But can't link this to the facts that Carbon Tax = Increased Inflation = Prices Rises = Interest Rate Rises, etc.

Anyway, I still say an increase in Australian interest rates. The developing world (China and India) is madly raising rates to try and curb inflation. The inflation from these countries will get exported to the rest of the world. Europe, with it's massive problems, has also started raising interest rates.
Australia rates are still as below historic norms.

This msg is for bluestorm and Deltaberry -
Please don't ASSUME anything about me -
It just makes an *** out of U and ME, particularly U!
I am a swinging voter and I do NOT support the carbon tax. I have my own reasons.
Geez, just because anyone here mentions about 'old ladies' and 'the poor' who cannot afford heating does not automatically make them Labour voters.

Bluestorm, your post just demonstrates to everyone how quick you are to pass judgment on others without any basis. Did I say anywhere in any post I support the carbon tax policy?

I was agreeing with Sash about increases in costs of living. The carbon tax has not EVEN kicked in yet and we are noticing huge price increases in everything already. Or haven't you noticed?

I know you want to get on your favourite hobby horse about being against the carbon tax and all but pleeeeez respond intelligently to posts

I think if the Carbon Tax goes through, that alone will see a 0.25% interest rate rise. Some here say the RBA will look at the Carbon Tax as a one off and not raise. They raised interest rates 4 times when the GST was introduced (2.5% inflation effect vs 0.7% of the Carbon Tax).

So I see interest rates rising in general, with now and additional 0.25% being added. Maybe 0.5% if the Treasury modelling is inaccurate and costs go up more than expected from the Carbon Tax.

Five mentions of carbon tax :rolleyes:

There are obviously other factors contributing to the change in sentiment regarding interest rates. People aren't spending, inflationis lower than predicted, economic growth is lower than expected.

I'm not sure I can see a cut yet though, unless growth for the June qtr is much worse than expected.

Carbon tax is not due to start until 1 July 2012, so it shouldn't have any effect on inflation and interest rates until at least then.

I was agreeing with Sash about increases in costs of living. The carbon tax has not EVEN kicked in yet and we are noticing huge price increases in everything already. Or haven't you noticed?

No, I said you need to link the policies to the consequences. I'm not just talking about the Carbon Tax. For example, did you not think all the huge government stimulus spending would have a effect on inflation and costs (including the $900 handout). When governments inject money, people spend more, inflation rises.
NO, but all the silly voters cheered their $900, without realising that it would cost them many more times than that later on. Well now you are playing for the after effects in rising costs. So stop complaining.

No, I said you need to link the policies to the consequences. I'm not just talking about the Carbon Tax. For example, did you not think all the huge government stimulus spending would have a effect on inflation and costs (including the $900 handout). When governments inject money, people spend more, inflation rises.
NO, but all the silly voters cheered their $900, without realising that it would cost them many more times than that later on. Well now you are playing for the after effects in rising costs. So stop complaining.

Bluestorm, I am once again AMAZED that you are conjecturing that I AM one of the 'silly voters cheered their $900' and therefore have no right to complain about rising living costs.
Bluestorm, everyone, regardless of political affliation or how they voted, received that $900, and circulated it through the economic system one way or another, by spending it on a holiday, paying down their credit card (by the way, I don't see how paying down a credit card is inflationary), putting it toward their mortgage or rent or putting it into a bank or just buying some much needed household appliances. Spent it in a myriad different ways, books, school uniforms, home insurances, rego etc

Tell us, did you put your $900 under your bed and therefore only you have the moral right to complain about costs of living increasing as you did not put it through the economic system thus causing 'inflationary pressures'? Come on!

You seem to have given yourself some kind of god-given right to tell people to 'Stop Complaining' depending on what sort of person you've projected them to be. You've equated me to being 'a silly voter that cheered their $900, now I"M paying for it in rising costs so I should stop complaining" :eek:

Your personal attacks, projections, judgemental attitude and flaws in logical thinking leave me deeply disturbed and disconcerted.

everyone, regardless of political affliation or how they voted, received that $900,

nope - only those on some form of social welfare got the $900. Apparently the pokies took record profits in that period.

I doubt Bluestorm got a dime. BTW, I don't think Blue was attacking you personally, rather the system and current government with it's huge wastage (how much is implementing, and paying all the extra beauracratcis, for the CT scheme going to cost?)

Tell us, did you put your $900 under your bed and therefore only you have the moral right to complain about costs of living increasing as you did not put it through the economic system thus causing 'inflationary pressures'? Come on!

No, I got $0. Income was too high. Cutoff for $0 was above $100K/yr. So no inflationary pressure from me there.
But what do you think pumping $12B directly into the economy does, as well as the spending on other schemes (schools, pink batts, etc, etc). Well, like I said to people back then, you'll be paying the government and others back 5x the amount you get free from the government.
NOTHING comes for free. Someone ultimately pays. And now, it's the voters paying with higher living costs. They wanted it, well now pay, and don't complain.

Sash may be getting closer to picking the next interest rate movement being down. Consumer confidence collapses here

Either way, my prediction of a correcting property market will eventuate. If interests rates rise then property will drop further. If interest rates fall, property falls as dropping it from 4.75% means that Australia is heading for economic trouble. Win-Win either way it goes.

The problem is everyone is focusing purely on interest rates. Increases in cost of living has the same effect as interest rate rises, but to a broader population (not just home owners).

I still say the next rate rise is up. There is a mining boom after all.

But I love how the economists are again "surprised".
"This is a surprisingly weak result,’’ Westpac's chief economist Bill Evans said in a statement. ‘‘This is the lowest level for the index since May 2009.’’

You only have to look at the 2 speed economy the past year to know Australia is heading for economic trouble. Why are these "experts" constantly surprised I ask?

Not now....because the demand and supply situation is starting to rebalance.

Sure there have been falls....but most property under 500k has had less than a 5% drop after gains of about 15%. Just a normal part of the cycle.

What is interesting is how many properties over 700k which are sold for 10-20% under the original asking price.

I believe this is also a result of immigrants now prefering to live in areas outside of the inner city.

Either way, my prediction of a correcting property market will eventuate. If interests rates rise then property will drop further. If interest rates fall, property falls as dropping it from 4.75% means that Australia is heading for economic trouble. Win-Win either way it goes.

The problem is everyone is focusing purely on interest rates. Increases in cost of living has the same effect as interest rate rises, but to a broader population (not just home owners).

I still say the next rate rise is up. There is a mining boom after all.

But I love how the economists are again "surprised".
"This is a surprisingly weak result,’’ Westpac's chief economist Bill Evans said in a statement. ‘‘This is the lowest level for the index since May 2009.’’

You only have to look at the 2 speed economy the past year to know Australia is heading for economic trouble. Why are these "experts" constantly surprised I ask?

You're not seeing the irony in that paragraph, I take it?

No - there's too many ironies in that paragraph.

Is it that Taiwan embarked on a pro-America stance during Chen Shui Bian's rule and ended up a basket case economy while the CCP-led Shanghai and HK powered on?

Or is it that I grouped the Republicans and CCP in to one basket when they probably want to shoot each other?

Or is it that the CCP - which was meant to be the most socialist of them all - turns out to be the biggest capitalists?

This msg is for bluestorm and Deltaberry -
Please don't ASSUME anything about me -
It just makes an *** out of U and ME, particularly U!
I am a swinging voter and I do NOT support the carbon tax. I have my own reasons.
Geez, just because anyone here mentions about 'old ladies' and 'the poor' who cannot afford heating does not automatically make them Labour voters.

Bluestorm, your post just demonstrates to everyone how quick you are to pass judgment on others without any basis. Did I say anywhere in any post I support the carbon tax policy?

I know you want to get on your favourite hobby horse about being against the carbon tax and all but pleeeeez respond intelligently to posts

It would help if you could spell Labor...

I always find it funny how ALP voters can't spell the name of the party they're voting for (not saying you're one, just a general observation).

For the record, didn't see my $900 either. But I think someone else's $900 was funded by my taxes.

I believe this is also a result of immigrants now prefering to live in areas outside of the inner city.

I don't know if preferred is the right word

Also immigrants is a pretty broad term - some people come here with around $20-30m. Though they don't exactly live in the inner city (meaning within 2km radius), they don't live in Werribee if that's what you're alluding to. Of course, some do, but not sure if that's a function of "preference"