150k deposit: what type of property to invest as a young beginner?

Hi guys,

Been reading the forum for years now and finally saved up a decent deposit get into the property game.

= Main stats: Age 32, 150k saved, earn 80k/yr, single.

Now, what do you think is a good strategy to invest this money?

I was looking at an investment property such as a townhouse in the inner west of Sydney, but it seems to be hard to get in under 700k. Not afraid of reno's - know plenty of tradespeople to assist. Looking to fix the interest at 5 years (5.5% or there abouts) and try and gear the rents to pay off most of the interest and principal each week - making it close neutral if possible.

Not a big fan of apartments due to stata's, but willing to look into undervalued areas of Sydney if you can suggest decent suburbs to keep an eye on.

I am a beginner when it comes to all this, but I do try to keep up with things.

I am open to suggestions and ideas and appreciate any advice/guidance from the old-timers on this forum. I may be able to get together a larger deposit if necessary, based on family borrowings.

Mucho Gratias,

Lucky

Well done on saving what is a substantial deposit!

It looks like to need to think about an overall strategy to employ. Figure out what your goal is, then work backwards to determine the various steps you need to acheive to meet that goal. This will help you to determine what sort of property you need to purchase.

Thanks PT Bear. My main strategy is build a portfolio of investment properties. I guess that's all I know for now.

P.S Can anyone suggest a good mortgage broker to go through? Still need to get the loan part sorted. I wonder what kind of borrowing capacity I would have?

Cheers

what sort of return are you after ?
What sort of time frame are you looking for ?
Are you currently renting ?
What do you do for living ? are you enjoy your current job/business?

You see everyone have different skills and objectives.