Agents mis-selling

Hi all,

My family got into trouble and seriously need some advice and guidance.

They recently signed an agreement to purchase a vacant land with a big land vendor, but they then found our that the soil condition in the region is very complicated and the construction cost for building a house will be excess their budget and affordability, thus they decide to terminated the contract. The agents of the vendor concealed the important fact of soil condition in the region and my family didn't get chance to even look at or test the soil before signing of the contract as it was still not available. My family is from overseas and solely relied on the information provided by the agents. Under this situation, is it possible to sue the agents over their mis-selling and caused the lost of deposit (and other cost)?
Will appreciate any advices. Thanks in advance,

Crap

Sorry to hear about your families situation.

I'm no lawyer and am not familiar with the NSW legal system but generally it is the buyer's responsibility to do their own due diligence and I don't think you'll have any legal grounds unless the agent has actually lied about the soil and you have evidence of it, i.e. if they gave you a phony soil test report, etc.

If there is anyway you can legally create some bad publicity for the vendor/agent, maybe you can persuade them to refund the deposit in order to shut you up.

The "caveat emptor" provision applies in this situation. It is buyer beware and the buyer's responsibility to conduct appropriate due diligence.

The main situation where there might be some recourse is if the agent was asked about the soil type and their reply (or lack of) was misleading. In the absence of this and based on the limited information provided, you will unlikely have further recourse.

The above is general only and I would speak to your solicitor to get their informed opinion based on the actual facts.