B&P Report - Concrete Cracks

I have a contract on an IP. The previous contact fell through and I am not sure if it was due to finance or building and pest issues.

The B&P report came through today and reads:

"Slight cracks are evident to various concrete panels due to movement in the structure.":eek:

It also says:

"Differential settlement has caused cracking to the block panels in areas":eek:

I have no background in building to know what this really means. My gut instinct says "run a mile" but I do really like the property. How can I work out if this is a serious issue.

Any thoughts or opinions would be greatly appreciated.:D

Call the building inspector for a chat. most reports sound like the place is falling apart when the inspector is just covering their bums.

Hi billy

Welcome to the forum.

Going back one step - how do you not know whether finance fell through due to the application or the valuation?

Ask your broker/banker to explain why the first application was knocked back. You may have other issues to deal with before worrying about the building/pest report.

Cheers

Jamie

Write the vendors a letter saying:

'Issues with report, need compensation of $xyz'

You may get a further discount

Doesn't seem too bad to me - but speak with inspector - ask him how much it would cost approx to fix and if he would still buy the house if it were his?

Also - was it a bargain price you agreed to or market price?

Also - ask agent why the contract fell thru

What a fantastic forum, thanks for your comments!!

JWR - I called REA on the day the previous contract was due to go unconditional. He told me the vendor had given purchaser a 2 week extension. I asked if issue was this finance or B&P and he said both.*If I ask the agent specifically why it fell through do you think he obliged to tell me?